There are four oral anticoagulants currently licensed for stroke prevention in non-valvular atrial fibrillation, warfarin, apixaban, dabigatran and rivaroxaban. In November 2014 the Medicines Management Programme (MMP) commenced a review of warfarin and the NOACs under the Preferred Drugs initiative. The selection of a preferred anticoagulant under the MMP is designed to support prescribers in choosing a medicine of proven safety, efficacy and cost effectiveness for stroke prevention in patients with atrial fibrillation. As with previous MMP Preferred Drugs initiatives, prescribers are encouraged to consider the preferred drug when initiating anticoagulant therapy. Approved by, Prof. Michael Barry, Clinical Lead, MMP.